TaxIntellilytics Stories

Income Tax Act (Cap 338)s. 21(1)(ah)FY2026/27Income Tax (Amendment) Act 2026 (Act 21 of 2026)

Case file ITA-2026-HOTELS

Income tax exemption for large hotel and tourism developments

Highest rung reached: Verified lawLaw: read in a statutory textExemption · Investment and industry

2 points pending verification

  • A revenue cost: the speech gives none.
  • Whether the Act sets a period for the exemption: the inserted paragraph does not state one.
Back to the register

Law

Principal Act
Income Tax Act (Cap 338), enacted as Act 11 of 1997
Amending Act
Income Tax (Amendment) Act 2026 (Act 21 of 2026) (verified)
Provision, revised numbering (2023 revision)
s. 21(1)(ah)
Provision, numbering before the revision
not stated in any source read
Principal Act dates
commencement 1997-07-01
Amending Act in force from
1 July 2026 (assented 20 August 2026; gazetted 28 August 2026)
Tax heads and taxpayers affected
Income tax. Developers of hotels investing at least USD 10 million (foreign) or USD 5 million (citizen) who meet local content and employment tests.
Status
Legal: in force. Implementation: pending verification.
WHAT CHANGED: CHANGE SLIP
Section A: The law
Amending ActIncome Tax (Amendment) Act 2026 (Act 21 of 2026)
In force from1 July 2026
Assent20 August 2026
NoteApplied from 50 days before it became law.
Section B: What the law said before
Nothing: this provision is new. Section 21(1) ended at paragraph (ag) on 23 December 2024; the 2025 Act inserted only (za). Paragraph (ah) is new in 2026.Checked in ULII-ITA-2024, PDF page 27, s. 21(1)
*** END OF CHANGE SLIP ***

The wording in force

s. 21(1)(ah)
as at 2026-07-01

(ah) income of a developer of a hotel or tourism facility whose investment capital is at least ten million United States Dollars, in the case of a foreigner or five million United States Dollars, in the case of a citizen, who subject to availability, uses at least seventy percent of locally sourced raw materials and employs at least seventy percent of its employees who are citizens earning an aggregate wage of at least seventy percent of the total wage bill Verified law: Wording or a date read in a statutory text, with the version and page named.[ACT-ITA-2026-21, PDF page 3, s. 3(a)(iii)]

Redline pending verification

The wording before this amendment was not read, so no redline is drawn. The amending Act, or the consolidated text as it stood the year before, would supply it.

Evidence classes: § Verified law · ○ Observed · = Derived · → Official forecast · ← Reported yield · ≈ Modelled estimate · ⇒ Causal estimate · ~ Association · ¶ Interpretation · ? Hypothesis · + Proposed reform · ! Unverified. Hover or focus a mark for its definition.